UWP Firmata example not working

Would you like to see more information or a tutorial about how to do something with LattePanda? Post requests here!
User avatar
Lutz
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:30 am
Location: Germany, NRW

Thu Jun 30, 2016 7:25 pm

peppe.tumino wrote:Hi,
I have trying (Firmata.NET) http://www.imagitronics.org/projects/firmatanet/, but not working.
So I changed a bit this framework enabling RTS during initialization and now work. I think that is not a solution (RTS is too old) but it can help @lattepanda to solve problem. I attach a working example: remeber to select correct port on Form1.cs (for me "COM5") . My changes on FIRMATA.NET are maked with //MODRTS on Arduino.cs (function open()) .
Please
Your solution worked for me... not really :)
To send a string ist OK, but to recieve a string worked only one time at program start.
So I added

Code: Select all

            //MODRTS
            _serialPort.RtsEnable = true;
            _serialPort.DtrEnable = true;
            //END MODRTS

and ... it works ! "Unlimited" send and recieve :o !

Thank you very much for your idea !!

User avatar
Pe4eHbKa
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 7:30 pm

Thu Jun 30, 2016 7:42 pm

peppe.tumino wrote:Hi,
I have trying (Firmata.NET) http://www.imagitronics.org/projects/firmatanet/, but not working.
So I changed a bit this framework enabling RTS during initialization and now work. I think that is not a solution (RTS is too old) but it can help @lattepanda to solve problem. I attach a working example: remeber to select correct port on Form1.cs (for me "COM5") . My changes on FIRMATA.NET are maked with //MODRTS on Arduino.cs (function open()) .
Please
Thanks for Your solution.
Please explaine, can I use this firmata for operate with 2-wire(i2c)/3-wire(spi)/UARTprotocols/pins? Can you create an example?
Great thanks

User avatar
peppe.tumino
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 2:11 pm

Thu Jun 30, 2016 8:29 pm

Lodin_Erikson wrote:
peppe.tumino wrote:Hi,
I have trying (Firmata.NET) http://www.imagitronics.org/projects/firmatanet/, but not working.
So I changed a bit this framework enabling RTS during initialization and now work. I think that is not a solution (RTS is too old) but it can help @lattepanda to solve problem. I attach a working example: remeber to select correct port on Form1.cs (for me "COM5") . My changes on FIRMATA.NET are maked with //MODRTS on Arduino.cs (function open()) .
Please
Your solution worked for me... not really :)
To send a string ist OK, but to recieve a string worked only one time at program start.
So I added

Code: Select all

            //MODRTS
            _serialPort.RtsEnable = true;
            _serialPort.DtrEnable = true;
            //END MODRTS

and ... it works ! "Unlimited" send and recieve :o !

Thank you very much for your idea !!
also works with only "_serialPort.DtrEnable = true;" . For some reason arduino on lattepanda wants a control flow enabled manualy. I hope there isnt a hardware problem, I would use uwp not FIMATA .NET :D

User avatar
peppe.tumino
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 2:11 pm

Thu Jun 30, 2016 8:47 pm

Pe4eHbKa wrote:
peppe.tumino wrote:Hi,
I have trying (Firmata.NET) http://www.imagitronics.org/projects/firmatanet/, but not working.
So I changed a bit this framework enabling RTS during initialization and now work. I think that is not a solution (RTS is too old) but it can help @lattepanda to solve problem. I attach a working example: remeber to select correct port on Form1.cs (for me "COM5") . My changes on FIRMATA.NET are maked with //MODRTS on Arduino.cs (function open()) .
Please
Thanks for Your solution.
Please explaine, can I use this firmata for operate with 2-wire(i2c)/3-wire(spi)/UARTprotocols/pins? Can you create an example?
Great thanks
Sorry I'm a newbie on Arduino :D

User avatar
Lutz
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:30 am
Location: Germany, NRW

Fri Jul 01, 2016 4:13 am

(...)
For some reason arduino on lattepanda wants a control flow enabled manualy
(...)

Not "Arduino on Lattepanda" alone, I tested my software on a standard Arduino-Leonardo with same results. Must have something to do with the USB and/or drivers of the Leonardo.
That means to me, every communication over USB with a Leonardo needs the manually enabled control flow. Nothing to do with the Firmata protocol or Firmata.Net.
But now we know it and its easy to test ;)

User avatar
trygame901
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 6:11 am

Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:25 am

I was finally able to get mine working! I used peppe.tumino's file and downloaded the newest Arduino software. I then uploaded the firmata and it seems to work with or without DTS enabled. Only, it seems to keep the comport open while its doing something when using DTS enabled.

User avatar
Pe4eHbKa
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 7:30 pm

Sat Jul 02, 2016 2:00 pm

trygame901 wrote:I was finally able to get mine working! I used peppe.tumino's file and downloaded the newest Arduino software. I then uploaded the firmata and it seems to work with or without DTS enabled. Only, it seems to keep the comport open while its doing something when using DTS enabled.
Yes, it`s really work, but this library work only with analog (redaing) and digital (read and write) pins. No SPI, no UART, no I2C. It`s vary sad... :cry: Still waiting for working MS IoT version...

User avatar
trygame901
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 6:11 am

Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:14 am

Is there a way to disable the RX0 led? I've created a HDD LED that uses D13 when ever there is drive activity but the RX0 led constantly flashes?

User avatar
corymp
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 11:07 pm

Thu Jul 07, 2016 12:38 pm

Great. This is solved after my LP is bricked....

User avatar
LattePanda
Site Admin
Posts: 2626
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:09 am

Mon Jul 11, 2016 8:54 am

hi there, we will be updating our docs soon. thanks for your interest
Enjoy Tinkering with LattePanda ! :lol:

Post Reply