Not able to access BIOS [SOLVED]

If you're having trouble with your LattePanda, here's the place to get help.
Forum rules
    Post technical issues here.

    - Discussion tone should be kept polite and focused on facts
    - Vulgar language or flaming constitutes an instant ban
    - Please note we cannot support PM requests for help
    - Members are asked to post in English only so that posts can be well received and properly monitored
    - You can find the RMA guide [here]
    - Please check if your question has already been answered before opening a new thread. If it has not, please verify the following:


    - Have you tried a hard reset?
    - Are you using a 5V@2A+ power supply and a high quality USB cable?
    - Have you tried powering the board through the CN2 headers?
    - Have you tried a cooling solution such as a fan or heatsink?
    - Have you tried reinstalling drivers?
    - Have you tried reloading the operating system?
    - Have you tried flashing the BIOS?
    - Are you able to flash the BIOS at the hardware level?

    If you have not found a solution, post a new issue. To speed up the process please let us know:
    - Have you tried the solutions listed above?
    - What board are you using? Standard (2GB RAM/32GB eMMC) or Enhanced (4GB RAM/64GB eMMC)?
    - Have you tried any other solutions?
    - How long have you had your board for?
    - When did you first boot your board?
    - Did it work ok before the issue occurred or has the issue always been there?
    - Use images and videos to help us understand the issue where possible

    If you are seeking RMA:
    - Please open a new topic rather than hijacking someone else's thread
    - Mark RMA posts with [DEFECTIVE] + <helpful description of issue>. We can then approve/disapprove each request
    - Completed RMA cases will be marked with [CLOSED]
    You can find the RMA guide [here]

    Resolved Issues
    - If you manage to fix an issue, please share your solution for the good of the community. It could help someone else in future.
    - If an issue is resolved the thread should be marked as [RESOLVED]. We can then sticky the thread to help people in future.

    What does troubleshooting support?
    - Hardware queries
    - Hardware issues that weren’t caused by you, e.g DOA board
    - Windows 10 specific issues
    User avatar
    QuiGonJ
    Posts: 16
    Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 1:05 pm

    Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:11 pm

    My LP seems to be working fine. I have installed Visual Studio, updated the Arduino to the current version, and loaded a number of programs on it. I also went and got a proper key and activated my Windows 10.

    However, when the boots, I don't see the LattePanda logo, and I cannot get to the BIOS. I would ultimately like for it to work as a power on boot, because that would be easier when it is installed as my robot's operating system.

    Also, will a 3.3V power rail be a good match to run power for the board?
    Last edited by QuiGonJ on Thu Jun 29, 2017 1:12 am, edited 2 times in total.

    User avatar
    LattePanda
    Site Admin
    Posts: 2641
    Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:09 am

    Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:16 am

    QuiGonJ wrote:My LP seems to be working fine. I have installed Visual Studio, updated the Arduino to the current version, and loaded a number of programs on it. I also went and got a proper key and activated my Windows 10.

    However, when the boots, I don't see the LattePanda logo, and I cannot get to the BIOS. I would ultimately like for it to work as a power on boot, because that would be easier when it is installed as my robot's operating system.

    Also, will a 3.3V power rail be a good match to run power for the board?
    Great to hear that you're using LattePanda to drive your robot!
    For entering the bios page, please press ESC / DEL whatever if there's any display when restarting. Then you should be able to enter the bios mode.

    And 3.3v power is not good for the system! You may consider to connect a 5V2A power solution to CN2 connector close to the MicroUSB port. The users got some conversation about power for LattePanda topic here:
    http://lattepanda.com/forum/viewtopic.p ... y&start=10

    Hope it's helpful!
    Enjoy Tinkering with LattePanda ! :lol:

    User avatar
    QuiGonJ
    Posts: 16
    Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 1:05 pm

    Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:55 pm

    Thanks! The weird part is, I am not seeing anything when it boots until I see the Windows 10 welcome screen. This is the problem.

    So far I have used nothing but an AC adapter to power the LP. Thanks for pointing out I need to use a 5V rail for that. I have one, no problem.

    User avatar
    Digioso
    Posts: 31
    Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 10:47 am

    Wed Jun 21, 2017 8:28 am

    Which kind of monitor/display are you using?

    I had the LP connected to my TV. The TV only starts showing stuff when the LP gets into Windows.
    Then I connected it to a normal PC monitor and there I also could see boot screen messages and I could go into bios.

    User avatar
    QuiGonJ
    Posts: 16
    Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 1:05 pm

    Mon Jun 26, 2017 3:59 pm

    I have it going to a monitor. But since it's a VGA monitor and I have to use an VGA/HDMI adapter, this might be the issue. What you said seems to confirm what I am now thinking.

    Yesterday I went ahead and ordered the screen and touch sensor to see if that connection will let me see the lattepanda screen prior to the Windows boot.

    User avatar
    QuiGonJ
    Posts: 16
    Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 1:05 pm

    Wed Jun 28, 2017 10:11 pm

    I just got the screen and now I can access the BIOS. The answer is, you need a direct HDMI connection or a screen for everything to work properly.

    Next issue I have is that the time won't update when it turns on. Worked fine at first, but a week or so ago it lost the ability to sync time from the Internet on bootup. I am not sure what to do about this.

    I know the issue is with windows/system32/tm32.exe

    https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Fo ... nservergen explains the problem, but I have no idea how to get it up and running. It suggested a different program to run to sync the time (most internet sites require accurate time to load), but that program only ran once. Any ideas?

    [eta 6/28 6pm PDT: never mind. It just started working again. Whatever I did, we're good.]

    User avatar
    LattePanda
    Site Admin
    Posts: 2641
    Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:09 am

    Tue Jul 18, 2017 3:50 am

    QuiGonJ wrote:I just got the screen and now I can access the BIOS. The answer is, you need a direct HDMI connection or a screen for everything to work properly.

    Next issue I have is that the time won't update when it turns on. Worked fine at first, but a week or so ago it lost the ability to sync time from the Internet on bootup. I am not sure what to do about this.

    I know the issue is with windows/system32/tm32.exe

    https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Fo ... nservergen explains the problem, but I have no idea how to get it up and running. It suggested a different program to run to sync the time (most internet sites require accurate time to load), but that program only ran once. Any ideas?

    [eta 6/28 6pm PDT: never mind. It just started working again. Whatever I did, we're good.]
    Dear friend, thanks for your update about that. I remember that in the forum there's a post about how to blind config the HDMI output. That could be also an alternative solution in this situation also. ;)

    About the sync time problem, I think you may consider to connect a RTC battery on LattePanda. But you may need a few soldering experience.
    Check out this link: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1353&p=5861&hilit=rtc#p5861
    Lazy also shared a photo of the hardware connection and battery spec to enable this feature.

    Hope it's helpful.
    Enjoy Tinkering with LattePanda ! :lol:

    User avatar
    satyp
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 8:54 am

    Tue Aug 11, 2020 9:08 am

    QuiGonJ wrote:
    Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:55 pm
    Thanks! The weird part is, I am not seeing anything when it boots until I see the Windows 10 welcome screen. This is the problem.

    So far I have used nothing but an AC adapter to power the LP. Thanks for pointing out I need to use a 5V rail for that. I have one, no problem.
    How is this problem.Solved ?🤔🧐

    I just received my new LP yesterday and directly connected via HDMI to a brand new LG 29" ultra wide IPS panel and boots straight into Windows

    There is also no way to ask windows to boot into the UEFI BIOS via the advanced security menu is this down to TPM module or something?

    Also unsure why I would need to purchase an additional LCD from dfrobot just to get into bios ai??? that would be quite a rip-off requirement and would probably just return the board to work and tinker with simpler boards but I doubt that is the case here..

    @dfrobot can you please post a simpler answer with STEPS to get into BIOS.

    I have tried ESC DEL etc.. the screen just stays blank until I CTRL ALT DEL and then after a brief moment I'm back into Windows 10 login

    There's is NO windows bootup screen etc

    Look forward to any comments here

    User avatar
    calpin
    Site Admin
    Posts: 46
    Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:21 am

    Tue Aug 11, 2020 9:33 am

    satyp wrote:
    Tue Aug 11, 2020 9:08 am
    QuiGonJ wrote:
    Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:55 pm
    Thanks! The weird part is, I am not seeing anything when it boots until I see the Windows 10 welcome screen. This is the problem.

    So far I have used nothing but an AC adapter to power the LP. Thanks for pointing out I need to use a 5V rail for that. I have one, no problem.
    How is this problem.Solved ?🤔🧐

    I just received my new LP yesterday and directly connected via HDMI to a brand new LG 29" ultra wide IPS panel and boots straight into Windows

    There is also no way to ask windows to boot into the UEFI BIOS via the advanced security menu is this down to TPM module or something?

    Also unsure why I would need to purchase an additional LCD from dfrobot just to get into bios ai??? that would be quite a rip-off requirement and would probably just return the board to work and tinker with simpler boards but I doubt that is the case here..

    @dfrobot can you please post a simpler answer with STEPS to get into BIOS.

    I have tried ESC DEL etc.. the screen just stays blank until I CTRL ALT DEL and then after a brief moment I'm back into Windows 10 login

    There's is NO windows bootup screen etc

    Look forward to any comments here
    You need hit "Esc" once you boot the device and may be press few times to ensure enter successfully.
    Or you can try the method in Win10 system below
    Click the Start menu and select Settings.
    Select Update and Security.
    Click Recovery.
    Under Advanced startup, click Restart now. ...
    Select Troubleshoot.
    Choose Advanced options.
    Select UEFI Firmware Settings.
    Click Restart to restart the system and enter UEFI (BIOS).

    User avatar
    satyp
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 8:54 am

    Tue Aug 11, 2020 1:14 pm

    calpin wrote:
    Tue Aug 11, 2020 9:33 am
    satyp wrote:
    Tue Aug 11, 2020 9:08 am
    QuiGonJ wrote:
    Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:55 pm
    Thanks! The weird part is, I am not seeing anything when it boots until I see the Windows 10 welcome screen. This is the problem.

    So far I have used nothing but an AC adapter to power the LP. Thanks for pointing out I need to use a 5V rail for that. I have one, no problem.
    How is this problem.Solved ?🤔🧐

    I just received my new LP yesterday and directly connected via HDMI to a brand new LG 29" ultra wide IPS panel and boots straight into Windows

    There is also no way to ask windows to boot into the UEFI BIOS via the advanced security menu is this down to TPM module or something?

    Also unsure why I would need to purchase an additional LCD from dfrobot just to get into bios ai??? that would be quite a rip-off requirement and would probably just return the board to work and tinker with simpler boards but I doubt that is the case here..

    @dfrobot can you please post a simpler answer with STEPS to get into BIOS.

    I have tried ESC DEL etc.. the screen just stays blank until I CTRL ALT DEL and then after a brief moment I'm back into Windows 10 login

    There's is NO windows bootup screen etc

    Look forward to any comments here
    You need hit "Esc" once you boot the device and may be press few times to ensure enter successfully.
    Or you can try the method in Win10 system below
    Click the Start menu and select Settings.
    Select Update and Security.
    Click Recovery.
    Under Advanced startup, click Restart now. ...
    Select Troubleshoot.
    Choose Advanced options.
    Select UEFI Firmware Settings.
    Click Restart to restart the system and enter UEFI (BIOS).



    Hi Calpin

    Thanks for your quick response ☺️

    I had already tried the recovery steps above,

    However the issue appear to the monitor..

    For whatever reason there is no output on the screen until the windows startup screen on the new LG IPS Monitor, however on attaching the LP to another Asus IPS Monitor I was able to SEE the boot screen and ESC to BIOS

    It would interesting to know why that happens .?

    In any case

    Best Regards 👍

    Post Reply