HDMI screen size does not fit

If you're having trouble with your LattePanda, here's the place to get help.
Forum rules
    Post technical issues here.

    - Discussion tone should be kept polite and focused on facts
    - Vulgar language or flaming constitutes an instant ban
    - Please note we cannot support PM requests for help
    - Members are asked to post in English only so that posts can be well received and properly monitored
    - You can find the RMA guide [here]
    - Please check if your question has already been answered before opening a new thread. If it has not, please verify the following:


    - Have you tried a hard reset?
    - Are you using a 5V@2A+ power supply and a high quality USB cable?
    - Have you tried powering the board through the CN2 headers?
    - Have you tried a cooling solution such as a fan or heatsink?
    - Have you tried reinstalling drivers?
    - Have you tried reloading the operating system?
    - Have you tried flashing the BIOS?
    - Are you able to flash the BIOS at the hardware level?

    If you have not found a solution, post a new issue. To speed up the process please let us know:
    - Have you tried the solutions listed above?
    - What board are you using? Standard (2GB RAM/32GB eMMC) or Enhanced (4GB RAM/64GB eMMC)?
    - Have you tried any other solutions?
    - How long have you had your board for?
    - When did you first boot your board?
    - Did it work ok before the issue occurred or has the issue always been there?
    - Use images and videos to help us understand the issue where possible

    If you are seeking RMA:
    - Please open a new topic rather than hijacking someone else's thread
    - Mark RMA posts with [DEFECTIVE] + <helpful description of issue>. We can then approve/disapprove each request
    - Completed RMA cases will be marked with [CLOSED]
    You can find the RMA guide [here]

    Resolved Issues
    - If you manage to fix an issue, please share your solution for the good of the community. It could help someone else in future.
    - If an issue is resolved the thread should be marked as [RESOLVED]. We can then sticky the thread to help people in future.

    What does troubleshooting support?
    - Hardware queries
    - Hardware issues that weren’t caused by you, e.g DOA board
    - Windows 10 specific issues
    Post Reply
    User avatar
    Raptor30k
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 4:43 pm

    Thu Aug 25, 2016 5:15 pm

    I have an external monitor connected via HDMI. If I select 1920x1080 resolution the contents of the screen do not fit. The width and height on the displayed screen are too big, so the Start menu is off screen and only see the top half of the Task Bar at the bottom. I have not had this problem on this monitor from multiple other computers.

    Lower resolutions fit OK but get the "this resolution is not Optimal for this monitor" message.

    I tried various Graphics settings and restarted the LP and turned off/on the monitor.

    I have a Samsung SyncMaster monitor. And have Single Display, Digital Television SyncMaster selected.

    User avatar
    Boring
    Posts: 88
    Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 7:14 pm

    Thu Aug 25, 2016 6:42 pm

    I had a similar thing turned out that i had the change a setting in the monitor. It was something like overscan, but I'm sure every brand has its own name and setting for this

    User avatar
    Raptor30k
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 4:43 pm

    Fri Aug 26, 2016 1:00 am

    Thanks Boring... My Samsung SyncMaster was set to 16:9, I changed it to "Screen Fit" and that fixed the problem.

    User avatar
    LattePanda
    Site Admin
    Posts: 2547
    Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:09 am

    Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:51 am

    Raptor30k wrote:Thanks Boring... My Samsung SyncMaster was set to 16:9, I changed it to "Screen Fit" and that fixed the problem.
    glad to hear it's fixed. this baffled me for a while too!
    Enjoy Tinkering with LattePanda ! :lol:

    Post Reply