com port for arduino

If you're having trouble with your LattePanda, here's the place to get help.
Forum rules
    Post technical issues here.

    - Discussion tone should be kept polite and focused on facts
    - Vulgar language or flaming constitutes an instant ban
    - Please note we cannot support PM requests for help
    - Members are asked to post in English only so that posts can be well received and properly monitored
    - You can find the RMA guide [here]
    - Please check if your question has already been answered before opening a new thread. If it has not, please verify the following:


    - Have you tried a hard reset?
    - Are you using a 5V@2A+ power supply and a high quality USB cable?
    - Have you tried powering the board through the CN2 headers?
    - Have you tried a cooling solution such as a fan or heatsink?
    - Have you tried reinstalling drivers?
    - Have you tried reloading the operating system?
    - Have you tried flashing the BIOS?
    - Are you able to flash the BIOS at the hardware level?

    If you have not found a solution, post a new issue. To speed up the process please let us know:
    - Have you tried the solutions listed above?
    - What board are you using? Standard (2GB RAM/32GB eMMC) or Enhanced (4GB RAM/64GB eMMC)?
    - Have you tried any other solutions?
    - How long have you had your board for?
    - When did you first boot your board?
    - Did it work ok before the issue occurred or has the issue always been there?
    - Use images and videos to help us understand the issue where possible

    If you are seeking RMA:
    - Please open a new topic rather than hijacking someone else's thread
    - Mark RMA posts with [DEFECTIVE] + <helpful description of issue>. We can then approve/disapprove each request
    - Completed RMA cases will be marked with [CLOSED]
    You can find the RMA guide [here]

    Resolved Issues
    - If you manage to fix an issue, please share your solution for the good of the community. It could help someone else in future.
    - If an issue is resolved the thread should be marked as [RESOLVED]. We can then sticky the thread to help people in future.

    What does troubleshooting support?
    - Hardware queries
    - Hardware issues that weren’t caused by you, e.g DOA board
    - Windows 10 specific issues
    Post Reply
    User avatar
    starfire151
    Posts: 7
    Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 4:58 pm

    Thu Sep 15, 2016 4:40 pm

    I've got my new Lattepanda running and tried one of the example Arduino examples (Blink.ino). I selected the Leonardo as the board and looked at the com ports available. The ports were com1 and com3. I selected com3 and attempted to compile and download the program. It compiled successfully but complained that the com port was unavailable. I looked in the com port listing again and found com4 now available. I selected com4 and tried to compile/download again. This time it was successful and the program ran, blinking the blue LED on the top on and off.

    I exited the session and tried it again. I loaded and modified the Blink program by having it toggle every half second. When I tried to compile and download, again the compilation was successful but the download attempt failed. I looked at the com port selection and it was only com1 and com3 again. This time com4 did not appear in the list. I looked at the Hardware Device Manager and it only listed com1 and com3.

    1. The previous blink program continues to run even after a reset on the board. How do you stop a running program?
    2. How do you get the Arduino to recognize all the available com ports?

    Thanks.

    User avatar
    boynoynudee
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 10:04 am

    Sun Sep 18, 2016 1:44 am

    It's same problem. I have been struggling issue. I'd already re install LattePanda system.
    I still be waiting for answer :(:(:(:(

    User avatar
    Lutz
    Posts: 214
    Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:30 am
    Location: Germany, NRW

    Sun Sep 18, 2016 6:41 am

    Maybe this helps to understand :
    https://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/ArduinoLeonardoMicro, second half of text beginning with
    "Please read...

    Differences from the Arduino Uno"

    User avatar
    starfire151
    Posts: 7
    Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 4:58 pm

    Sun Sep 18, 2016 3:54 pm

    Thanks for the replies.

    My problem is not that I can't get the download to work... it's that the com port number changes. The first time I look at the com port listing, it shows com1 and com3. I downloaded to com3. It worked! The program loads and executes correctly. I make some modifications to the program and attempt a download again. The com ports listed are com1 and com6. com3 has disappeared! com6 was not in the original list. I download to com6 and it works!

    I recognize the ports are being enumerated dynamically but it's a problem if you try to plan a com port for specific activity within a program and the port number is changed...

    User avatar
    tyjjr
    Posts: 94
    Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 5:38 am

    Tue Sep 20, 2016 7:46 am

    Hi,
    these problem caused by the arduino chip...
    which platform do you used?visual studio or nodejs? the serial library are often support auto scan the serial port, and you can recognize the arduino from vid and pid code.
    starfire151 wrote:Thanks for the replies.

    My problem is not that I can't get the download to work... it's that the com port number changes. The first time I look at the com port listing, it shows com1 and com3. I downloaded to com3. It worked! The program loads and executes correctly. I make some modifications to the program and attempt a download again. The com ports listed are com1 and com6. com3 has disappeared! com6 was not in the original list. I download to com6 and it works!

    I recognize the ports are being enumerated dynamically but it's a problem if you try to plan a com port for specific activity within a program and the port number is changed...

    User avatar
    Pieter
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 9:45 am

    Thu Oct 06, 2016 9:16 am

    i am also desperately in need for a solution..
    the following post addresses the same problem:

    viewtopic.php?f=6&t=672&p=3297&hilit=arduino+com#p3297

    User avatar
    addojoe
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 6:22 pm

    Fri Oct 07, 2016 7:21 am

    There is a discussion in another area about this Com port problem using the on board Arduino. I am having the same problem. Board on com 3 then on com 5. Reboot and everything fine for 1 more upload. The Arduino board takes the program and works fine. An external Arduino board works Great! Lattepanda has not responded to this problem with a fix but it is possible to work with. I would also like a remote start button connection or better yet a BIOS start on power up feature.

    User avatar
    Pieter
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 9:45 am

    Wed Oct 12, 2016 8:47 pm

    you can flash the bios so that it boots up automatically when the main power is supplied instead of a power button..

    about the communication failure with the onboard Arduino i am also still waiting for a fix. i have just formatted and reinstalled windows on the lattepanda and it appeared to have fixed the problem but now a few days later i am having the same connection problem again. this time i was careful to note down any changes i made to the system and there was nothing i changed/installed/configured so i am none the wiser..

    (lattepanda 32gb with windows 10 LTSB and autoboot bios)

    User avatar
    LattePanda
    Site Admin
    Posts: 2657
    Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:09 am

    Wed Mar 29, 2017 9:17 am

    thanks for the feedback
    Enjoy Tinkering with LattePanda ! :lol:

    User avatar
    steamerandy
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 11:31 pm
    Location: Mo
    Contact:

    Fri Dec 28, 2018 12:20 am

    I am having a similar problem. It started out the same as described. Manually resetting the Arduino did fix the problem before. But now nothing works. Resetting the Arduino does start up blinking the led but stops blinking another led. I think the Tx0 led. This failure started after I changed the blink port to D9 in the blink example.

    Post Reply