[RESOLVED] Leonardo device not connected?

If you're having trouble with your LattePanda, here's the place to get help.
Forum rules
    Post technical issues here.

    - Discussion tone should be kept polite and focused on facts
    - Vulgar language or flaming constitutes an instant ban
    - Please note we cannot support PM requests for help
    - Members are asked to post in English only so that posts can be well received and properly monitored
    - You can find the RMA guide [here]
    - Please check if your question has already been answered before opening a new thread. If it has not, please verify the following:


    - Have you tried a hard reset?
    - Are you using a 5V@2A+ power supply and a high quality USB cable?
    - Have you tried powering the board through the CN2 headers?
    - Have you tried a cooling solution such as a fan or heatsink?
    - Have you tried reinstalling drivers?
    - Have you tried reloading the operating system?
    - Have you tried flashing the BIOS?
    - Are you able to flash the BIOS at the hardware level?

    If you have not found a solution, post a new issue. To speed up the process please let us know:
    - Have you tried the solutions listed above?
    - What board are you using? Standard (2GB RAM/32GB eMMC) or Enhanced (4GB RAM/64GB eMMC)?
    - Have you tried any other solutions?
    - How long have you had your board for?
    - When did you first boot your board?
    - Did it work ok before the issue occurred or has the issue always been there?
    - Use images and videos to help us understand the issue where possible

    If you are seeking RMA:
    - Please open a new topic rather than hijacking someone else's thread
    - Mark RMA posts with [DEFECTIVE] + <helpful description of issue>. We can then approve/disapprove each request
    - Completed RMA cases will be marked with [CLOSED]
    You can find the RMA guide [here]

    Resolved Issues
    - If you manage to fix an issue, please share your solution for the good of the community. It could help someone else in future.
    - If an issue is resolved the thread should be marked as [RESOLVED]. We can then sticky the thread to help people in future.

    What does troubleshooting support?
    - Hardware queries
    - Hardware issues that weren’t caused by you, e.g DOA board
    - Windows 10 specific issues
    Post Reply
    User avatar
    trubel
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:33 am

    Mon Apr 02, 2018 9:06 pm

    I ran my first sketch using the arduino ide and it performed as expected. To get the sketch to stop, I loaded in blink, which performed as expected.

    Now I have lost visibility and access to the serial port that I was using earlier. USB7 showed up with Leonardo immediately adjacent to it. Now its gone.

    I have no idea what I did wrong or how to fix it.

    When I goto to device manager in W10, I find two hidden listings under usb, one showing a Leonardo (USB7), another showing a Leonardo bootloader(USB8). The are greyed out. When I click them, they show as code 45, this device is not connected to this computer.

    I have tried rebooting W10, resetting arduino with the reset button, but cannot get the Leonardo usb 7 (or 8 which is bootloader) to show in port selections.



    When I try to run blink on the only visible port which can "get board info", I get this
    Arduino: 1.8.5 (Windows 10), Board: "Arduino Leonardo"

    avrdude: butterfly_recv(): programmer is not responding
    avrdude: butterfly_recv(): programmer is not responding
    avrdude: butterfly_recv(): programmer is not responding
    avrdude: butterfly_recv(): programmer is not responding
    avrdude: butterfly_recv(): programmer is not responding
    Found programmer: Id = "þ"; type = ¸
    Software Version = h.

    User avatar
    LattePanda
    Site Admin
    Posts: 2640
    Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:09 am

    Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:56 am

    Hi, did you try to reinstall the driver of Arduino? :?:
    Enjoy Tinkering with LattePanda ! :lol:

    User avatar
    trubel
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:33 am

    Tue Apr 03, 2018 1:35 pm

    I went to https://github.com/LattePandaTeam/Latte ... 0-Software and downloaded the 4G64GB driver set.

    I applied the contents of the UART folder and received the message back that for Leonardo USB 7 the best driver was already installed.

    Is there another package that I am missing? Some of the other folders have labels eg GNSS that are unknown to me.

    Thanks

    User avatar
    trubel
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:33 am

    Tue Apr 03, 2018 2:41 pm

    When I hit the arduino reset button, the blue lights flash and blink.

    Prior to reset, device manager shows two greyed out USBs, one labeled USB7 Leonardo, the other USB8 Leonardo bootloader. Both only show if I change "view" to show hidden devices.

    Upon reset, the USB 8 Leonardo bootloader momentarily turns black but at the end of the recycle returns to grey.

    User avatar
    LattePanda
    Site Admin
    Posts: 2640
    Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:09 am

    Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:19 am

    Hi, first I have to say sorry for the delay getting back to you!
    How's everything going? :)
    Enjoy Tinkering with LattePanda ! :lol:

    User avatar
    trubel
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:33 am

    Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:43 pm

    I cannot connect to Leonardo to upload sketches. I have tried reinstalling drivers and am told I have the latest drivers already installed. I can work around it using an external arduino connected via USB but that kind of defeats the whole point of lattepanda. Very disappointed. I have searched all that google has to offer, and these forums, but no solutions have worked for me. I am sure there is an easy fix,
    I just can't find it.

    User avatar
    trubel
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:33 am

    Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:26 pm

    RESOLVED

    Answer is here https://www.dfrobot.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=216
    My steps
    Load blink into arduino ide. Select leonardo. The Leo usb won't appear yet/still.

    press Arduino reset button. Leo usb port will momentarily appear. Select it quickly and try to upload. But by the time blink is compiled, it can't upload because the usb has disappeared again. Persevere.

    Using the same setup as your first (failed) attempt, click upload again. Wait until the compiler has almost finished, then press arduino reset button again. Just as the ide starts to try and upload, your Leo usb port momentarily reappears again, long enough for the upload to succeed.

    Your Leo port will now appear in the dropdown menu again! Permanently...until the next time

    User avatar
    LattePanda
    Site Admin
    Posts: 2640
    Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:09 am

    Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:03 am

    Sounds great! Thanks for your sharing ! :)
    Enjoy Tinkering with LattePanda ! :lol:

    User avatar
    ChristopherGalicia
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 5:01 pm

    Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:55 pm

    trubel wrote:
    Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:26 pm
    RESOLVED

    Answer is here https://www.dfrobot.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=216
    My steps
    Load blink into arduino ide. Select leonardo. The Leo usb won't appear yet/still.

    press Arduino reset button. Leo usb port will momentarily appear. Select it quickly and try to upload. But by the time blink is compiled, it can't upload because the usb has disappeared again. Persevere.

    Using the same setup as your first (failed) attempt, click upload again. Wait until the compiler has almost finished, then press arduino reset button again. Just as the ide starts to try and upload, your Leo usb port momentarily reappears again, long enough for the upload to succeed.

    Your Leo port will now appear in the dropdown menu again! Permanently...until the next time
    Thank you very much!!!! It works!

    User avatar
    AtlasInOc
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2020 8:16 pm

    Sat Jul 18, 2020 8:27 pm

    In case this helps others that find this thread - the basic issue is that in the Blink sketch, the Leo is not initiating a serial connection using Serial.begin(<baud rate>). As I found out through trial and error when I encountered this issue, any time you have a sketch the runs on the Leo you MUST have Serial.begin() in your setup() even if you do not intend to use the serial port for communication. If you don't, you will end up in the situation described in this thread where the Leo will not connect to the IDE to get a sketch download.

    The solution in this thread does tell you how to get the Leo 'onboarded' again, but as you can imagine, it is hit and miss as to whether you'll actually talk to that Leo again. But it does work - until you run ANY sketch that doesn't have Serial.begin().

    In Summary, if you always make sure that a Leo-bound sketch has Serial.begin() in it, you'll be ok.

    Post Reply