[TUTORIAL] LattePanda Alpha & Delta Bios Reflash via BIOS Programmer

If you're having trouble with your LattePanda Alpha & Delta, here's the place to get help.
Forum rules
If you have not found a solution, post a new issue. To speed up the process please let us know:
- Have you tried the solutions listed above?
- What board are you using? Standard (2GB RAM/32GB eMMC) or Enhanced (4GB RAM/64GB eMMC)?
- Have you tried any other solutions?
- How long have you had your board for?
- When did you first boot your board?
- Did it work ok before the issue occurred or has the issue always been there?
- Use images and videos to help us understand the issue where possible

If you are seeking RMA:
- Please open a new topic rather than hijacking someone else's thread
- Mark RMA posts with [DEFECTIVE] + <helpful description of issue>. We can then approve/disapprove each request
- Completed RMA cases will be marked with [CLOSED]
You can find the RMA guide [here]

Resolved Issues
- If you manage to fix an issue, please share your solution for the good of the community. It could help someone else in future.
- If an issue is resolved the thread should be marked as [RESOLVED]. We can then sticky the thread to help people in future.
User avatar
LattePanda
Site Admin
Posts: 2690
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:09 am

Wed Feb 26, 2020 7:12 am

Hi jamienc, thanks for your instruction of CH341A Programmer tool.
Enjoy Tinkering with LattePanda ! :lol:

User avatar
highfreq
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 07, 2020 7:45 am

Thu May 07, 2020 7:48 am

Tutorial as it is now is pretty much useless. Since i was one of those that screwed up the board because there are still 864 bios files linked on the forum for the 864s.
Could you please make some more pictures that CLEARLY indicate wich cable goes where from the programmer to the 864s board?

Take 3-4 clear pics where people can understand where to connect each cable please.

I have a CH341A controller and a bricked board on my table but i really do not know where to plug each cable.

On the board i have.

MOSI
CLK
HOLD
VCC
CS#
MISO
WP
GND

But on the programmer i have only few of them

Wich ones are necessary and how should i connect them to a CH341A programmer like the one in link (i already know i have to use 25Cxx but do not know where all the cables go.

this is the programmer https://www.amazon.it/KeeYees-SOIC8-EEP ... 003&sr=8-1

Since this looks like the only one that can be easily found in Europe, it would be of great help to make a tutorial for this.
Thanks

User avatar
LattePanda
Site Admin
Posts: 2690
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:09 am

Fri May 08, 2020 8:44 am

Hi, pls check the picture.
SOP8.png
SOP8.png (150.67 KiB) Viewed 3986 times
Enjoy Tinkering with LattePanda ! :lol:

User avatar
oaklandishh
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 4:32 pm

Mon Oct 05, 2020 4:54 pm

I tried to get my LP alpha 864s auto booting and it stopped booting altogether. I think your BIOS files are all mislabeled. I re-flashed BIOS and it was booting again and when I tried to update to the auto booting a second time the LP stopped outputting HDMI and wont power via USB C anymore, only thru the DC pins. reflashing the BIOS no longer seems to work. Any idea how to fix this?

User avatar
nisal-techmetics
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2020 8:20 am

Fri Oct 30, 2020 9:06 am

oaklandishh wrote:
Mon Oct 05, 2020 4:54 pm
I tried to get my LP alpha 864s auto booting and it stopped booting altogether. I think your BIOS files are all mislabeled. I re-flashed BIOS and it was booting again and when I tried to update to the auto booting a second time the LP stopped outputting HDMI and wont power via USB C anymore, only thru the DC pins. reflashing the BIOS no longer seems to work. Any idea how to fix this?
I'm encountering the same issue. Two of my LP alpha 864s are not working after auto-booting flash. Did you use files for KR310 or KR300?

User avatar
LattePanda
Site Admin
Posts: 2690
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:09 am

Mon Nov 02, 2020 12:49 am

you can check our github for BIOS file for KR310 and KR300.
https://github.com/LattePandaTeam/Latte ... 20m3-8100y
Enjoy Tinkering with LattePanda ! :lol:

User avatar
Routhinator
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 6:17 pm
Contact:

Wed Dec 23, 2020 9:48 pm

Hey folks,

Wondering if an Arduino UNO R3 can be used as a programmer here? I used it to flash the bootloader to my Ender 3 Pro, and seems silly to get a programmer for the Lattepanda Alpha as it appears I can use the same connections from the UNO R3? Can anyone confirm?

User avatar
ccs_hello
Posts: 664
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:16 pm

Fri Dec 25, 2020 1:27 am

No, it cannot for two reasons...

1. AFAIK, there is no such origrammer (as a supported, industrialized, production grade) using Arduino Leonardo.

2. The required programming interface (hardware leads) do not intercept with LP Alpha/Delta's Arduino interface.

BTW, the CH341 based programmer is about $15 or less. The actual programmer code probably had consumes more than one thousand of hours behind it. <-- but we use it for free

Post Reply