Adding a RESET Switch for Intel x86 (may be blinking BLUE LED)

If you're having trouble with your LattePanda Alpha & Delta, here's the place to get help.
Forum rules
If you have not found a solution, post a new issue. To speed up the process please let us know:
- Have you tried the solutions listed above?
- What board are you using? Standard (2GB RAM/32GB eMMC) or Enhanced (4GB RAM/64GB eMMC)?
- Have you tried any other solutions?
- How long have you had your board for?
- When did you first boot your board?
- Did it work ok before the issue occurred or has the issue always been there?
- Use images and videos to help us understand the issue where possible

If you are seeking RMA:
- Please open a new topic rather than hijacking someone else's thread
- Mark RMA posts with [DEFECTIVE] + <helpful description of issue>. We can then approve/disapprove each request
- Completed RMA cases will be marked with [CLOSED]
You can find the RMA guide [here]

Resolved Issues
- If you manage to fix an issue, please share your solution for the good of the community. It could help someone else in future.
- If an issue is resolved the thread should be marked as [RESOLVED]. We can then sticky the thread to help people in future.
Post Reply
User avatar
ccs_hello
Posts: 486
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:16 pm

Thu Sep 12, 2019 11:54 pm

Since there is no RESET Switch on the Intel X86 CPU side, I've created a DIY project to show how it is accomplished.
(Note that the "Ardu Reset" Switch on the PCB is for Arduino Leonardo Reset, not for main CPU.)

Why I show this path?
It's because some had stated the LPA (or LPD) has the blinking BLUE LED (once every 4 seconds or so), which means the power is properly supplied.
However, even press the "POWER" button for more than 8 second, there is no steady BLUE LED (even momentarily in steady BLUE),
and the current consumption is about 0.04A, I think this syndrome is "cannot power up the LattePanda Alpha".

LattePanda himself has a post showing a possible solution, involving:
- taking out peripheral devices (e.g., eDP monitor cable, external hard drive, any adapter card on any M.2 slot, unplug all USB devices, etc.)
Just leave the DDR4L RAM in place...
- do the POWER and RESET sequence as described in this post: https://www.lattepanda.com/topic-p25552.html#p25552
(I guess here some mistakenly press the Arduino RESET button, that is the incorrect way.)

Here I cannot attest if the procedure Lattepanda had stated is effective or not. I am just showing how to add an Intel CPU RESET switch.
LPA_Reset_Switch.jpg
LPA_Reset_Switch.jpg (100.59 KiB) Viewed 2832 times

User avatar
ccs_hello
Posts: 486
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:16 pm

Fri Sep 13, 2019 3:42 pm

Button itself
But3.jpg
But3.jpg (75.56 KiB) Viewed 2821 times

User avatar
Lutz
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:30 am
Location: Germany, NRW

Mon Sep 16, 2019 9:54 am

Very nice !

Post Reply