Usb Port doesn’t work

If you're having trouble with your LattePanda Alpha & Delta, here's the place to get help.
Forum rules
If you have not found a solution, post a new issue. To speed up the process please let us know:
- Have you tried the solutions listed above?
- What board are you using? Standard (2GB RAM/32GB eMMC) or Enhanced (4GB RAM/64GB eMMC)?
- Have you tried any other solutions?
- How long have you had your board for?
- When did you first boot your board?
- Did it work ok before the issue occurred or has the issue always been there?
- Use images and videos to help us understand the issue where possible

If you are seeking RMA:
- Please open a new topic rather than hijacking someone else's thread
- Mark RMA posts with [DEFECTIVE] + <helpful description of issue>. We can then approve/disapprove each request
- Completed RMA cases will be marked with [CLOSED]
You can find the RMA guide [here]

Resolved Issues
- If you manage to fix an issue, please share your solution for the good of the community. It could help someone else in future.
- If an issue is resolved the thread should be marked as [RESOLVED]. We can then sticky the thread to help people in future.
User avatar
ender
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 3:55 pm

Mon Apr 06, 2020 6:31 am

Hi,
I'm LattePanda alpha 864s.
I've noticed something lately. of the 3 usb ports lined up in the front , the USB Port in the middle acts too selectively. it plays on only one of at least 5 usb devices in my possession. what could be the reason?
Attachments
usb_latte.JPG
usb_latte.JPG (36.82 KiB) Viewed 339 times

User avatar
ccs_hello
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:16 pm

Mon Apr 06, 2020 12:49 pm

Never worked on that port using that specific device (what device anyway?) in the past?

I would guess it's power (supplying to that USB port) related but I might be wrong as well.
A secret: get a UM34C USB 3.0 power monitoring device. It's a great gadget to detect USB power related issues.

User avatar
ender
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 3:55 pm

Mon Apr 06, 2020 2:14 pm

ccs_hello wrote:
Mon Apr 06, 2020 12:49 pm
Never worked on that port using that specific device (what device anyway?) in the past?

I would guess it's power (supplying to that USB port) related but I might be wrong as well.
A secret: get a UM34C USB 3.0 power monitoring device. It's a great gadget to detect USB power related issues.


It is currently playing when I plug a 250gb USB 3.0 disc.
But only this device is playing with this port.
Wireless mouse does not work , usb wifi does not work.

User avatar
ccs_hello
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:16 pm

Mon Apr 06, 2020 2:25 pm

Re: Wireless mouse does not work , usb wifi does not work
(I assume the 256GB USB 3.0 drive is getting power through its own power supply.)

The symptom looks like that USB port's 5V power feed is burnt.


User avatar
ccs_hello
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:16 pm

Mon Apr 06, 2020 6:11 pm

Okay, that video is very helpful.
The problem is your USB middle-port's
- USB 2.0's data lines (D+ and D-) is broken somehow
- USB 3.0's data lines are fine (1 pair of Tx and 1 pair of Rx)

Note that a single USB 3 socket are offering two "parallel and independent" data paths, one for USB2 and the other USB3.
(BTW, your USB tester is a USB2 only type. I.e., it does not allow USB3 signal to pass thru.)

Don't know why D+ D- leads are broken, but it is also possible in BIOS such USB port (at least USB2 side) is disabled.

User avatar
ender
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 3:55 pm

Wed Apr 08, 2020 5:45 am

Hello,
Thanks for your interest, do I need to update the bios to resolve this situation?

picture of installed bios available in the attachment.
Attachments
bios.JPG
bios.JPG (67.33 KiB) Viewed 292 times

User avatar
ccs_hello
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:16 pm

Wed Apr 08, 2020 7:39 pm

No need to update BIOS.
Just check (be careful, do not disable all USB ports; it's going to be very hard to change it back) the USB port setting.
usbbb.jpg
usbbb.jpg (19.27 KiB) Viewed 279 times

User avatar
ender
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 3:55 pm

Thu Apr 09, 2020 7:48 am

ccs_hello wrote:
Wed Apr 08, 2020 7:39 pm
No need to update BIOS.
Just check (be careful, do not disable all USB ports; it's going to be very hard to change it back) the USB port setting.
usbbb.jpg

Thank you for the information,
I have never seen this menu in bios settings for "lattepanda alpha 864s" :(
Did you send it to "LattePanda Alpha 864s"?

User avatar
ccs_hello
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:16 pm

Thu Apr 09, 2020 3:31 pm

No clue. Mine is an original Alpha 864 w/ original BIOS.

Post Reply