LattePanda Alpha 864 - Bios - Auto-Power-On?

A place to talk about all the Operating Systems, Software & Hardware
User avatar
Warp
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:05 pm

Fri Nov 23, 2018 10:11 am

This is a great news.
Thanks

User avatar
bureaucrat34
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 4:41 am

Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:11 am

Hi Guys, Any update on this? I've already investigated using traditional carpc power supplies but because of the long 5 second press to start the panda, i cant pursue those options, im limited to autopower on.

User avatar
calpin
Site Admin
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:21 am

Fri Nov 30, 2018 6:43 am

bureaucrat34 wrote:
Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:11 am
Hi Guys, Any update on this? I've already investigated using traditional carpc power supplies but because of the long 5 second press to start the panda, i cant pursue those options, im limited to autopower on.
The beta version was done, but for we use new solution on Alpha & Delta, it can not update as easily as before. So we have to release it after the tutorial ready or find a new method,It will take a few days more and we will note in here and announce in forum. THX for you guys patience.

User avatar
lwagneur2
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 1:06 pm

Sun Dec 02, 2018 1:11 pm

Thanks for the status.
In the meantime, could it be a solution to trigger an Arduino Digital Output port during 5 second, (This port is connected to the SW pins)
Must I add a relay for this purpose ?

Kind regards

Laurent

User avatar
seanc
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2018 6:21 am

Mon Dec 03, 2018 6:22 am

Hi,

Has the updated BIOS been released yet?

User avatar
sisumike
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 10:04 pm

Mon Dec 03, 2018 3:02 pm

lwagneur2 wrote:
Sun Dec 02, 2018 1:11 pm
In the meantime, could it be a solution to trigger an Arduino Digital Output port during 5 second, (This port is connected to the SW pins)
Must I add a relay for this purpose ?
This is a good point, I should have explored this option. SW is asserted by being connected to GND and it sounds like Arduino outputs can sink current (when set to low) and source current (when set to high). So you should be able to connect the Arduino's digital output directly to SW without any pull-up/down resistors.

User avatar
sisumike
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 10:04 pm

Fri Dec 14, 2018 3:33 pm

LattePanda, any update yet?

User avatar
stwr
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 9:12 am

Thu Dec 20, 2018 9:14 am

Hi,

I would love to get an update on this as well. Any news?

User avatar
bureaucrat34
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 4:41 am

Sat Dec 22, 2018 3:02 am

still waiting on this bios update.

User avatar
macwan
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2018 2:41 pm

Wed Dec 26, 2018 2:55 pm

This was something I asked over year ago while Alpha was still on the design table and Kickstarter was going crazy about the Alpha. Back then it was said that "This is a default option to have, will be available in the final product".

I'm still waiting my board to arrive and while doing that I'm reading the Community forum to learn about the current status of the Alpha - and found this thread a very discomforting - my whole project depends of the Auto-On feature and based on the promises year ago I participated to the Kickstarter campaign. I do hope that the update is available, if not, I have absolutely very extremely expensive piece of IT I have no use whatsoever.

If this option is not possible, then I think I have to teach my Mom to put the board on after power loss as I am not living in the final location of the Alpha - not gonna happen :-D

Post Reply