Arduino Power Control option

A place to talk about all the Operating Systems, Software & Hardware
Post Reply
User avatar
electronics_in_focus
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:05 am

Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:09 am

Hello
I have LattePanda Alpha and i found "Arduino Power Control" option in BIOS setup.
There is no information about this option in the documentation.
How can I use this option?

User avatar
LattePanda
Site Admin
Posts: 2525
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:09 am

Wed Dec 26, 2018 3:06 am

Dear friend, I will need to check with the product team. But we will work out more and more docs via docs.lattepanda.com (source: https://github.com/LattePandaTeam/Docs) You will be able to commit your content requirement via github also.

But based on my understanding, with this option in bios, you will be able to disconnect the power supply for the onboard arduino to turn off Arduino via physical level. Should be a power control option of the USB port connected to Arduino.

What do u think?
Enjoy Tinkering with LattePanda ! :lol:

User avatar
Agree_dk
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 7:24 am

Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:35 am

done some testing under Linux (Debian) and Arduino Ide installed and when the option is enabled Leonardo is power on and can be seen from Arduino Ide, when disabled Arduino Ide can not find Leonardo.
Hope ths help ;-)

User avatar
Boring
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 7:14 pm

Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:00 pm

Thanks, this is good to know. I'm running my alpha as server, hope this helps to reduce the already low power consumption.

User avatar
LattePanda
Site Admin
Posts: 2525
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:09 am

Mon Jan 07, 2019 8:25 am

Boring wrote:
Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:00 pm
Thanks, this is good to know. I'm running my alpha as server, hope this helps to reduce the already low power consumption.
Quick question. Could you please share more about how do u use LPA as a server? Like photos backup or any other usage. ;)
Just interested in different usages.
Enjoy Tinkering with LattePanda ! :lol:

User avatar
Boring
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 7:14 pm

Tue Jan 08, 2019 2:08 pm

I am Using the LPA as a Debian server at home. I'm planning to use it to run docker containers.
Installing Debian was easy, only the WiFi drivers could not be installed during the installation process. However following the Debian solution it worked. I had a timeout on the SD card reader, but inserting a random SD card solves that problem.

The LPA is connected to my NAS ( currently still on 1Gbps and shares have been mounted.

First container is running. I'm running home assistant (it is my first time using docker and also first time for Home assistant). It is working great and one container it is no effort for for the LPA, the fan didn't switch on yet.

To control stuff through hass.io I have connected an elelabs ZigBee stick and an aeotec Z-stick gen 5. I'm slowly setting up home assistant and until now it has been a lot of fun and a real pleasure to use the LPA, it has been worth the investment and the wait.

Docker containers to come are (moving plugins from my NAS to the LPA):
- pi-hole
- Plex
- unifi controller
- urbackup server
- resillio or own cloud or some other cloud stuff
- VPN server

But before I add more docker containers I want to add some storage. But I'm not sure if I should go from a SD card or a m.2 SSD. Pricewise they are similar, but a m.2 SSD will be faster. However it will block one of the m.2 slots. And I want to keep the option to move to 10Gbps network.

Post Reply