Alpha 800 windows 10 and external GPU setup

A place to talk about all the Operating Systems, Software & Hardware
Post Reply
User avatar
TitanityDK
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2019 5:52 am

Tue Apr 23, 2019 6:49 pm

I´ve been struggleing with the idea of having a external gpu (graphic card) running with my Alpha 800. The 800 model dosent have emmc module on like the 864 model. And i all the time got stuck because i need the m.2 key M for either the GPU card or the m.2 ssd hdd. I tryed all thinkable possibilitys using a hdd another way then the m.2 port. But no succes, either it didnt support or it wasent built for it. I´m a newfan/Newbie of this x86 Singleboard scene. But today i finally got through...

Every time i put a normal ssd hdd with a kabel to a usb port then the windows 10 setup tells me that it´s not possible and not supported... Okay... Then i ran into a old trick i used back when i didnt know about MBR and GPT partitions... And the secret is...

Use another desktop computer with uefi and run the windows 10 setup from the USB stick to the "usbport to ssd hdd" (use 3.0 for fast setup) and when the % hits 100 and it says it will reboot within 10 secs, then you turn off the computer... Put the "USB to SSD HDD" back into the Lattepanda. and boot up the LattePanda. That way it works and you are running windows 10 from a usb port. And then you have the m.2 key m slot free and you can use a external graphic card with your LattePanda.

NOTE: It´s important when you start your setup on another pc that the ssd you are gonna use is the only HDD present. Also while doing the setup then delete the partition on the SSD and make a new one - setup will create 4 new partitions which you can install win10 on the biggest partition ofcourse.

If this is a noob thread because of my lack of knowledge then ill delete it again. If it´s helpful towards other customers with the 800 model, then i´m happy to help! :)

GL tinkering and sorry about my english gramma!
Last edited by TitanityDK on Wed Apr 24, 2019 6:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ccs_hello
Posts: 374
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:16 pm

Tue Apr 23, 2019 11:23 pm

Great write-up!


FYI, a straightforward solution may be found in fleabay 153342823266.
(One side goes to LPA's key-E slot, and the other side expose the key-M slot.)

Note, most likely it will only expose 1 lane of the PCIe bus.
You can find an inexpensive PCIe 2x NVMe SSD and use it in PCIe 1x mode.

User avatar
TitanityDK
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2019 5:52 am

Wed Apr 24, 2019 6:15 am

Thanks for the positive input. First time i ever make a thread like that. CCS can you make a link??? Been searching for ages to find a useable item for the key E slot. I only found wifi plugins so far...

NOTE: It´s important when you start your setup on another pc that the ssd you are gonna use is the only HDD present. Also while doing the setup then delete the partition on the SSD and make a new one - setup will create 4 new partitions which you can install win10 on the biggest partition ofcourse.


User avatar
rickey318
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:29 pm

Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:46 am

Nice Write up!!!

I'm currently running Mac OS on my Alpha 800 using a USB 3 SSD Drive. Want to install Windows with a ISO or CD since Lattepanda ISO Download is broken up. Wanted to know if you used the normal Windows ISO to install and if anything is not working (wifi, Bluetooth, etc)?

User avatar
ccs_hello
Posts: 374
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:16 pm

Thu Apr 25, 2019 3:20 am

Did you go thru the Win10 ISO install image as described here:
http://docs.lattepanda.com/content/alpha_edition/os/

There should be 3 RAR files. Winrar should be able to combine them and form an ISO file
which then can use "rufus" (use ver 3.5) to write to a USB flash drive for installation.

User avatar
TitanityDK
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2019 5:52 am

Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:35 pm

rickey318 wrote:
Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:46 am
Nice Write up!!!

I'm currently running Mac OS on my Alpha 800 using a USB 3 SSD Drive. Want to install Windows with a ISO or CD since Lattepanda ISO Download is broken up. Wanted to know if you used the normal Windows ISO to install and if anything is not working (wifi, Bluetooth, etc)?
Yes i use a normal windows 10 installation on a USB flash drive. Reason for that its in my own language : Danish

Name of the iso: da_windows_10_core_17134_x64_dvd - Also everything is working with no problems at all... I´m happy :)

Post Reply