SPST switch for power on / off

Would you like to see more information or a tutorial about how to do something with LattePanda Alpha or Delta? Post requests here!

Moderator: ED209

Post Reply
User avatar
dmanlfc
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 11:19 am

Fri Jan 25, 2019 10:08 am

How to add a SPST switch to power on / off the LattePanda
When switched off, gracefully shutdown Windows / Linux.

Just to be clear - NOT a momentary switch.

Dan

User avatar
ccs_hello
Posts: 376
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:16 pm

Fri Jan 25, 2019 12:50 pm

You'll need a power control supervisory controller module
basically taking in user's desired power-state as well as reading the CPU state to
drive the "power" and "reset" pins on the LP Alpha board.

User avatar
dmanlfc
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 11:19 am

Sun Jan 27, 2019 4:00 am

Isn't that what the Arduino controller is for?

User avatar
dmanlfc
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 11:19 am

Mon Feb 25, 2019 12:31 am

I have made this work via a Relay & some Arduino code.
If anyone is interested, let me know.

Dan

User avatar
ccs_hello
Posts: 376
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:16 pm

Mon Feb 25, 2019 6:24 pm

Dan,

Great job! You should publish it.

ccs_hello

User avatar
gabemorgath
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 1:47 pm

Sun Mar 10, 2019 2:45 pm

Yes, a step by step guide would be great indeed!

User avatar
dmanlfc
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 11:19 am

Sat Apr 06, 2019 8:53 pm

Hi all,

The Arduino & python code is here...

https://github.com/dmanlfc/arcade1up/tr ... te%20Panda

I will do a YouTube video later

DMAN

User avatar
ccs_hello
Posts: 376
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:16 pm

Sun Apr 07, 2019 7:44 pm

I would suggest take measurement from the LPA board itself (e.g., S5 state, check other thread:
https://www.lattepanda.com/topic-f23t18595.html ) to ensure
the actual POWER-State indeed is in sync with what the arduino software "think" it (the variable in the software) is.

Post Reply