Is there a way to reset the Arduino from software?

A place to talk about all the Operating Systems, Software & Hardware
Forum rules

- Posts are to be made in the relevant forum. Users are asked to read the forum descriptions before posting.

- Members should post in a way which is consistent with "normal writing". That is users should not post excessive numbers of emoticons, large, small or coloured text, etc. Similarly users should not SHOUT or use excessive punctuation (e.g. ! and ?) in topic titles or posts.

- Members should use an appropriate, descriptive subject when posting a new topic. Examples of bad subjects include; "Help me!", "I'm stuck!", "I've got an error!", etc. Examples of good subjects include; "Getting an TABLE FULL error upon login", "Cannot restore a backup".

- Members are asked to post in English only so that posts can be well received and properly monitored.

- Spam is not tolerated here under any circumstance. This includes offering hosting services (charged and free), installation services, solicitation etc. Recruiting members for your own projects (moderators, designers, professional MOD work, etc.) is not permitted and is also considered spam. Users posting spam will be warned and their post removed.

- Members should post in a way that is respectful of other users. Flaming or abusing users in any way will not be tolerated and will lead to a warning. Vulgar language and inappropriate material is not allowed and will be removed. We try to maintain a family friendly atmosphere whenever it is possible within the main subject matter of this community. Please keep this in mind when participating.

- Each user is allowed to create one account. If you would like to change your username, please contact us and, most likely, we can do it for you while you can keep all of your profile data, posts, and other content.

- If a user violates our guidelines and shows a disregard for them, our staff and our community, they run the risk of losing their account. We reserve the right to deactivate any account and to edit or remove any content without warning. These guidelines are subject to change at any time without notice.

Thank you for visiting LattePanda.com!
Post Reply
User avatar
Tempest8008
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:42 pm

Mon Feb 05, 2018 1:59 pm

Is there any way to reset the Arduino board on the LP without resorting to the hardware button?
Can it be restarted/refreshed from software?

User avatar
Tempest8008
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:42 pm

Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:52 pm

Bumpety bump.

User avatar
Coco Xia
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:36 am

Thu Feb 08, 2018 3:04 am

Hi, sounds like a good topic, i guess you can try to give a low lever to the Reset pin. Not sure whether is can work, but i guess it is worth to try.
Why you want to do this?

User avatar
Tempest8008
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:42 pm

Tue Feb 13, 2018 1:15 pm

Well.
I'm staring at my device manager in Windows right now and I do not see the COM6 port that my Arduino Leonardo usually shows up on. If I hit the reset button on the board, Windows then detects the board on the correct COM port.

We are going to need to be passing code from the OS to hit the digital pins on the Arduino to activate some LEDs on very specific information. We need an LED to activate when only valid GPS coordinates are being obtained and to show network traffic over a Nimblelink cell modem.

This will all be written in C#.

I am concerned that if the Leondardo is not accessible on COM6 that we won't be able to pass the code via serial to the board.

And this happens every time the LattePanda is rebooted. Windows starts up fine, everything is detected EXCEPT the Arduino Leonardo on COM6. That needs physical intervention each time.
If we could create some code to soft-reset the board after Windows has booted, that would avoid this problem.

EDIT: Additional information: I have a sketch running in the Arduino to show the power state (we have a small off-board UPS running) by lighting an LED and flashing it when external power is lost. That is working fine all of the time, so I know the Arduino itself is running fine.

User avatar
leogx9r
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 1:09 pm

Thu Feb 15, 2018 3:46 am

Make the Arduino control a motor to push the reset button physically ?

Image

User avatar
LattePanda
Site Admin
Posts: 2518
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:09 am

Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:52 am

Hi Tempest8008,how's everything going? :)
Enjoy Tinkering with LattePanda ! :lol:

User avatar
Lemminger65
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 10:44 pm

Sat Jun 01, 2019 6:59 am

Hi

I am faced with the same problem, if i press the button lattepanda works fine.
But this is not ok!

Hey Lattepanda team, your support is very poor!

Could not anybody take care about this forum and help us out?=
We are buying your products!
If the Arduino is not proper working, we can buy other products if you prefer!

But is we start an project, it cost time and money to proceed with your stuff.

Does anybody know a solution?

User avatar
Tempest8008
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:42 pm

Mon Dec 16, 2019 1:59 pm

I've come back to these forums on another topic, but found this one languishing.

We discovered a way to reset the Arduino on the LattePanda from software, and it's relatively simple.

Problem: The OS detects the Arduino COM port for programming purposes but NOT for general usage (uploading a sketch etc).

Solution: Simply open that detected COM port at 1200 baud. This forces the Arduino on the LP to reset, and you'll then see the additional COM ports appear that you can then access to upload a sketch or work with I/O pins.

Details: You don't have to do ANYTHING other than attempt to open that port at 1200 baud. You don't have to transfer any data or do anything else.

Post Reply