4GB/64GB board powers itself off. Driver issue? [defective]

userHead sodata 2017-03-16 02:02:42 3621 Views4 Replies
Hi Everyone - hopefully someone can help me out with getting my first board up and running, and maybe I can save some of you some time by sharing my experiences.

Can I say first of all that I am an IT Engineer by profession and I have many years of experience in the deployment and commissioning of commercial Windows-based systems.

I recently purchased a 4GB/64GB board, which from the first time it was powered on, keeps turning itself off before it can actually be used for anything useful. The board does not shut down gracefully - eg you don't see "Windows is shutting down" onscreen - it just powers off like you disconnected the power. I can see exactly when the board powers off because the red power LED on the underside goes out at that time.

I have read through many articles on this forum, and it seemed the first troubleshooting stage was to ensure I was using a power supply with sufficient capacity. I have tested using two different power supplies;

1) AUKEY PA-U33 (https://www.amazon.com/AUKEY-5-Port-Cha ... B00UN1LM7Q), which has a total output capacity of 10A @ 5VDC. This was used to power the board via the USB Micro B port using several USB cables, all known to be in good working order when used with other hardware - mobile/cell phones and other IoT and embedded devices etc. Because I an not 100% sure exactly what the maximum current is available per port, I also tried;