Stellar Captures: Enhancing Astrophotography with LattePanda 3 Delta

userHead LattePanda 2023-08-01 17:25:04 1060 Views2 Replies

Stellar Captures: Enhancing Astrophotography with LattePanda 3 Delta

**This article was originally written by Paolo Banci. All rights belong to the original author.

1. Background:

I have been a passionate photographer for several years, with my recent fascination being the stars. The beauty and mystery of the cosmos have driven me to capture its essence through my camera lens. However, the process of star photography is not as simple as it appears, and to enhance the quality of my work, I decided to embark on this project.

2. Introduction of your project:

The project involves setting up a sophisticated astrophotography system using a Skywatcher 150 PDS telescope, a ZWO 533 MCPRO cooled camera, and a LattePanda 3 Delta mini PC. The goal is to capture high-quality, precise images of celestial objects by managing the telescope mount, tracking the subjects, and controlling the image capture process.

3. Hardware and Software list:

- Hardware: Skywatcher 150 PDS telescope, ZWO 533 MCPRO cooled camera, ZWO ASI 120MM Mini, 32mm UltraGuide Artesky, Baader coma corrector MPCC MARK III 2", Pocket Powerbox Advance Pegasus Astro, LattePanda 3 Delta mini PC

- Software: Windows 10, Green Swamp Server (for mount management), Phd2 (for telescope guidance), ASTAP (for subject centering), N.I.N.A. (for managing photo shooting), and Ascom platform (for data exchange between applications).

From home I use Lattepanda with Remote Desktop service. The telescope in the garage waiting to be taken out for the evening.

4. Tutorials (steps) of making this project:

I am happy to provide a brief overview of the steps involved in this project, but bear in mind, a comprehensive tutorial would be quite lengthy.

- Set up your Skywatcher 150 PDS telescope and connect it with the ZWO 533 MCPRO cooled camera.