[Open] LattePanda Alpha Not Booting

If you're having trouble with your LattePanda Alpha & Delta, here's the place to get help.
Forum rules
If you have not found a solution, post a new issue. To speed up the process please let us know:
- Have you tried the solutions listed above?
- What board are you using? Standard (2GB RAM/32GB eMMC) or Enhanced (4GB RAM/64GB eMMC)?
- Have you tried any other solutions?
- How long have you had your board for?
- When did you first boot your board?
- Did it work ok before the issue occurred or has the issue always been there?
- Use images and videos to help us understand the issue where possible

If you are seeking RMA:
- Please open a new topic rather than hijacking someone else's thread
- Mark RMA posts with [DEFECTIVE] + <helpful description of issue>. We can then approve/disapprove each request
- Completed RMA cases will be marked with [CLOSED]
You can find the RMA guide [here]

Resolved Issues
- If you manage to fix an issue, please share your solution for the good of the community. It could help someone else in future.
- If an issue is resolved the thread should be marked as [RESOLVED]. We can then sticky the thread to help people in future.
User avatar
LattePanda
Site Admin
Posts: 2662
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:09 am

Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:26 pm

Dear All,

We noticed that some users can't boot LattePanda Alpha somehow (except Alpha 800 didn't install OS properly on SSD).

I trust our techsupport team already get in touch with some of you. If you are experiencing this issue, please connect with LattePanda team via email (techsupport@lattepanda.com). And attach this link. We will provide replacement for every supporter.

The thing is every board from us are fully tested for triple times from our factory side, quality team and product team. We make sure our product is good for shipping to our customers. So we will organize to collect these specific faulty units back to us very soon to figure out if the logistics process caused some unexpected problems on LattePanda Alpha coz it is still a problem happening on a part of cases. We will try to figure out the common situation from our users also.

So our techsupport team will try to collect more info from everyone has similar problem. And we really hope you can test LattePanda Alpha with other PD adapter to help us diagnose and position the problem together!

Thanks for your time.

And please post your questions here directly then we can have a single thread to sync the info in forum!
Enjoy Tinkering with LattePanda ! :lol:

User avatar
LattePanda
Site Admin
Posts: 2662
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:09 am

Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:28 pm

Some quick solution you can try shared by wilks:
Disconnect all peripherals from the device except power. Hold the power and hard rest buttons for 20 seconds. Disconnect the power. Hold the power and reset buttons for 20 seconds. Plug back in the power and try to boot normally. Repeat as necessary. I had the same problem, worked for me.
Enjoy Tinkering with LattePanda ! :lol:

User avatar
chabes
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 8:18 pm

Sun Nov 18, 2018 7:35 pm

Thank you! The customer support is greatly appreciated

User avatar
hamuel89
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 4:25 am

Tue Nov 20, 2018 4:29 am

I just got my LattePanda Alpha, and was having the same problem. It was as simple as hit escape after the blue led turns solid. This gets you into the bios then exit and saving and the panda eyes appear and it works just fine

User avatar
weitinglu
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 8:54 am

Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:46 am

I have the same problem. It works normally for a few days.

I had to try the reset method [SW + Ard_RST button], I don't know which one is hard reset buttons. => don't work.
I use 12V power connect to DC-IN connector => don't work.
I use SmartPhone connect to Alpha, using type-c cable => don't work
I use Nintendo - switch power adaptor -> don't work.

User avatar
LattePanda
Site Admin
Posts: 2662
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:09 am

Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:39 pm

weitinglu wrote:
Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:46 am
I have the same problem. It works normally for a few days.

I had to try the reset method [SW + Ard_RST button], I don't know which one is hard reset buttons. => don't work.
I use 12V power connect to DC-IN connector => don't work.
I use SmartPhone connect to Alpha, using type-c cable => don't work
I use Nintendo - switch power adaptor -> don't work.
Please contact with Techsupport team as we mentioned. They will help. And we will receive the several faulty units soon. We will do analytics for these units ASAP!
Enjoy Tinkering with LattePanda ! :lol:

User avatar
weitinglu
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 8:54 am

Thu Nov 22, 2018 3:22 am

LattePanda wrote:
Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:39 pm
weitinglu wrote:
Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:46 am
I have the same problem. It works normally for a few days.

I had to try the reset method [SW + Ard_RST button], I don't know which one is hard reset buttons. => don't work.
I use 12V power connect to DC-IN connector => don't work.
I use SmartPhone connect to Alpha, using type-c cable => don't work
I use Nintendo - switch power adaptor -> don't work.
Please contact with Techsupport team as we mentioned. They will help. And we will receive the several faulty units soon. We will do analytics for these units ASAP!
I did. But I don't get any response.

User avatar
fruvous
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 9:01 pm

Thu Nov 22, 2018 4:10 am

Email sent to support

User avatar
MacManPro
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2018 2:07 pm

Tue Dec 04, 2018 4:27 am

***REPOSTING IN RELEVANT FORUMS (since LattePanda Admin has not replied to PM, and it's been 7-days)

I need to run a VGA connection to my Lattepanda Alpha, but to do so would require using the USB-C port for video output (as stated in your manual). Knowing that I have to use the 12v DC input on the board for power now, and, that I will have other peripherals requiring power (let's say one IDE and one SATA device), what type of SFX/Micro PSU would you recommend I use, so that I have one power source for everything?

PS-- thanks for the tip about e-mailing support! That's not mentioned in the manual, nor is there a phone number to call ;-)
"You can't buy happiness, but you can buy icecream, which, is kind of the same thing :-)"

User avatar
LattePanda
Site Admin
Posts: 2662
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:09 am

Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:08 am

MacManPro wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 4:27 am
***REPOSTING IN RELEVANT FORUMS (since LattePanda Admin has not replied to PM, and it's been 7-days)

I need to run a VGA connection to my Lattepanda Alpha, but to do so would require using the USB-C port for video output (as stated in your manual). Knowing that I have to use the 12v DC input on the board for power now, and, that I will have other peripherals requiring power (let's say one IDE and one SATA device), what type of SFX/Micro PSU would you recommend I use, so that I have one power source for everything?

PS-- thanks for the tip about e-mailing support! That's not mentioned in the manual, nor is there a phone number to call ;-)
Please make sure that your type C on LattePanda alpha works properly if not just email techsupport@lattepanda.com to apply for replacement directly! We are tracking and working on analysis on this issue. If you don't have problem on type c feature, then any adapter from amazon will be good. Let me know if you need further suggestion for adapter.
Enjoy Tinkering with LattePanda ! :lol:

Post Reply