LattePanda Alpha 864 - Bios - Auto-Power-On?

A place to talk about all the Operating Systems, Software & Hardware
User avatar
derecho
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:36 pm

Sat Jan 05, 2019 8:31 pm

@Macwan, it's a creative solution but it sure is overkill to use a Raspberry Pi to turn on an Alpha. It's an extremely sad state of affairs when this $400 computer/microcontroller combination needs another computer or controller to turn it on. I should think it would be quite embarrassing for the LattaPanda folks.

As a temporary solution (I'm not convinced it's temporary though) adding a small relay to the Alpha that is activated by the onboard Arduino isn't difficult. It's just a big ugly kludge.

User avatar
macwan
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2018 2:41 pm

Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:20 pm

@derecho

You are correct about the overkill, but then again I do use RapsberryPi to get remote access via SSH tunneling and for security camera as the Alpha is going to be installed to my remote location together with my all HAM and DX equipments.

Having access to the 'physical power switch' was an idea that was easy to do with the stuff I found from my tinkering box - and I do also find it quite relaxing thought that I have a separate device to control Alpha as the operating system used in my project is Windows 10 and I am not that happy with the way Microsoft updates it's OS. Now I have at least a way to totally put the Alpha off if OS crashes or get is some odd state that nothing happens or even BSOD.

And yes, some satisfaction is to do this kinds of hack's and tinkerings :-)

-Mac

User avatar
macwan
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2018 2:41 pm

Sun Jan 06, 2019 3:14 pm

After some more testing I think I found a bug (?) in the Alpha that could prevent all functionality in case of power loss.

As this thread is about Auto-Power-On I decided to write this in here even when the topic is loosely connected to my post about the remote controlling of the Alpha.

The system of mine is headless, so no screen, no keyboard and no mouse. Everything is done via RDP. There is USB 3 HUB connected to Alpha that has it's own power supply. In the HUB there is six SDR dongles connected 24/7.

Now, if I simulate a power loss and remove all the power from Alpha and USB HUB at the same time and put it back at the same time only one time of 10 the Alpha wakes up to the normal state waiting to be put on via SW. It does not matter how long I keep power off, Alpha does not start at all if the USB HUB is powered at the same time with Alpha. If I first turn power on to Alpha and then to USB HUB everything is working.

I had similar problem with Odroid XU-4, it did not boot when external monitor or powered USB HUB was connected - somehow some current was leaking via either powered HDMI or from the USB HUB that kept Odroids +5 volt line active enough so that the 'bios' was not able to function when the main power was introduced to the board.

Based on this finding I decided to expand my RaspberryPi idea from my previous posts to include not only one channel relay, but four instead so that I can remotely control all the power supplies that are connected to the system. Alpha power supply, Alpha SW, USB HUB power supply and there is one extra for other/later usage too. Now it is enough that I can get the RasPi Online - I can control Alpha's power in all possible way remotely as it seems to be somewhat unstable.

I just ordered the final parts to this mod, so after I have received them and tested my theory in practise I'll update this thread with detailed parts info and code needed in case someone else want's to try my approach - estimated time of delivery not later than second week, February.

Edit #2:

Parts arrived and are working as expected.

The relay board is: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Keyestudio-RPI ... 2749.l2649

It works OOB. I made a veeeeery simple Scratch based ' Control Program' - PM me for details :-)

(Edit: Typos)
(Edit #2: Details about the parts
Last edited by macwan on Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ccs_hello
Posts: 439
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:16 pm

Sun Jan 06, 2019 4:06 pm

@macwan

Thanks for the (inexpensive) USB hub backfeed the power to its upstream port (to LP Alpha) story.
Similar discussions here:
https://electronics.stackexchange.com/q ... stream-bad
https://electronics.stackexchange.com/q ... g-to-my-pc

User avatar
Marotus
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:16 pm

Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:22 pm

Good morning,
is there any news about the update of the bios?

User avatar
bureaucrat34
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 4:41 am

Fri Jan 11, 2019 12:22 pm

doesnt sound like it, lattepanda like alot of other kickstarters, cash grab and stop supporting their product.

User avatar
Agree_dk
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 7:24 am

Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:47 am

@LattePanda Team,
Please look into this and provide an officiel solution to it asap?

User avatar
khan
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 2:17 am

Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:15 am

When the LP team solve the problem, I want it.

User avatar
Roy92
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:22 am

Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:49 am

i've 2 alpha's for a project, but i realy need the panda's to boot when power-on. i'm waiting for (bios) solution.

also, i noticed that i have 2 different 'EC FW verion'
02.0B.06 <-- not booting at poweron whatsoever
02.0B.07 <-- is booting at poweron on USB-C connector

but i need auto-boot at power-on on the provided DC connector

User avatar
Agree_dk
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 7:24 am

Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:30 am

@LattePanda Team,
when can we expect you to provide a solution to this ? e.a updated BIOS including a guide on how to upgrade the board ?
without this function (and the Arduino issue) a lot of solutions is a NO GO for your board :-(
Thx in advance for your support

Post Reply