Max resolution

A place to talk about all the Operating Systems, Software & Hardware
Forum rules

- Posts are to be made in the relevant forum. Users are asked to read the forum descriptions before posting.

- Members should post in a way which is consistent with "normal writing". That is users should not post excessive numbers of emoticons, large, small or coloured text, etc. Similarly users should not SHOUT or use excessive punctuation (e.g. ! and ?) in topic titles or posts.

- Members should use an appropriate, descriptive subject when posting a new topic. Examples of bad subjects include; "Help me!", "I'm stuck!", "I've got an error!", etc. Examples of good subjects include; "Getting an TABLE FULL error upon login", "Cannot restore a backup".

- Members are asked to post in English only so that posts can be well received and properly monitored.

- Spam is not tolerated here under any circumstance. This includes offering hosting services (charged and free), installation services, solicitation etc. Recruiting members for your own projects (moderators, designers, professional MOD work, etc.) is not permitted and is also considered spam. Users posting spam will be warned and their post removed.

- Members should post in a way that is respectful of other users. Flaming or abusing users in any way will not be tolerated and will lead to a warning. Vulgar language and inappropriate material is not allowed and will be removed. We try to maintain a family friendly atmosphere whenever it is possible within the main subject matter of this community. Please keep this in mind when participating.

- Each user is allowed to create one account. If you would like to change your username, please contact us and, most likely, we can do it for you while you can keep all of your profile data, posts, and other content.

- If a user violates our guidelines and shows a disregard for them, our staff and our community, they run the risk of losing their account. We reserve the right to deactivate any account and to edit or remove any content without warning. These guidelines are subject to change at any time without notice.

Thank you for visiting LattePanda.com!
User avatar
LazyBunny
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:38 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Fri Oct 27, 2017 10:14 pm

ED209 wrote:
Wed Oct 25, 2017 4:55 pm
LazyBunny wrote:
Mon Oct 23, 2017 11:29 am
I've had the panda at 2560x1080@75hz, though it doesn't save the refresh and defaults to my monitor's default of 60hz (Overclocked the refresh to 75hz)
Wow. What's your display or monitor?
LG 25UM56-P
it's a 25" 21:9 ultrawide 60hz. However there is an extremely similar LG25UM58-P which has a default of 75hz.
So i asked myself.. Why would LG make 2 separate monitors, 2 separate LCD panels, and 2 driver boards.. all that wasted R&D... So i figured they're likely identical, just with different Firmwares.. One limited to 60hz, the other to 75hz.

So i set a custom resolution/refresh on all my connected computers, to do 2560x1080@75hz and it works great.

The only issue is when ever i use a new system or config, it defaults to 60hz since it's coded into the firmware of the monitor. But i just need to set a custom res/refresh to 75hz and all is well. ^_^
A lot of people don't realize they can overclock their LCD's refresh rate. If it doesn't work, the screen goes black or what ever error message, and windows will do that 15 second confirmation or what ever, so wait it out until it confirms/rejects. and all is well. Plenty of 120hz lcd's that can do 144hz.

A laptop i'm building that uses an ipad3-4 LCD, defaults at 40hz, i overclocked it to 50hz. though i can't seem to push it more, seems to be a limitation of the LCD driver board. But that's fine for it's purposes.
My Gameboy: http://imgur.com/a/lhY1x
My SBC Joystick: http://imgur.com/a/vtc5C
My Rockin' Dreamcast: http://imgur.com/a/kI50p
I'm Kiera, the Laziest Bunny in all of Bunny Town.

User avatar
secure
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:18 pm

Sat Oct 28, 2017 1:18 am

Coco Xia wrote:
Mon Oct 23, 2017 10:11 am
Actually, LattePanda can compatible with most screen via HDMI.
No it's not.

I just sent an email to their support including a youtube video link showing the problem.
The ultimate technical knowledge of the support team couldn't click on the link as it may be virus.

support team needs some support.

- right click on the link
- copy link address
- open your browser
- control + v to paste it.

If it is a real youtube link press enter to go
if not, its probably a virus link. Close it.

User avatar
secure
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:18 pm

Sat Oct 28, 2017 1:27 am

I am looking to hear back from Intel as the display adapter is HD400.

If LattePanda wouldn't keep restarting when the monitor is plugged, there is a way of fixing this.

User avatar
LazyBunny
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:38 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Sat Oct 28, 2017 3:45 pm

secure wrote:
Wed Oct 25, 2017 11:27 pm
I disabled the intel graphic display adapter in windows 10 system settings and LCD backlight comes ON and videoboard turned to green. No image yet though
What do you mean you disabled the intel graphic display adapter?

That IS the video output... if you turn that off, you have no video output.. at all, from anywhere.
It would be like disabling the video card in a desktop. You'd have to somehow get into a "safe mode" to be able to turn the intel graphics back on.

The intel HD graphics controls ALL video output, all of it. HDMI, and mipi, you have to have it on unless you're using linux and SSH into it.
secure wrote:
Sat Oct 28, 2017 1:18 am
Coco Xia wrote:
Mon Oct 23, 2017 10:11 am
Actually, LattePanda can compatible with most screen via HDMI.
No it's not. -snip-

Yes it is. Coco Xia said "most" not "All"
My Gameboy: http://imgur.com/a/lhY1x
My SBC Joystick: http://imgur.com/a/vtc5C
My Rockin' Dreamcast: http://imgur.com/a/kI50p
I'm Kiera, the Laziest Bunny in all of Bunny Town.

User avatar
secure
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:18 pm

Sat Oct 28, 2017 8:59 pm


What do you mean you disabled the intel graphic display adapter?

That IS the video output... if you turn that off, you have no video output.. at all, from anywhere.
It would be like disabling the video card in a desktop. You'd have to somehow get into a "safe mode" to be able to turn the intel graphics back on.

The intel HD graphics controls ALL video output, all of it. HDMI, and mipi, you have to have it on unless you're using linux and SSH into it.
Windows 10>Control Panel>Device Manager.
Find display adapter and disable it.
You will have video output even if you disable it.
I think its because Windows 10 disables display adapter and its drivers but still recognize it under -other devices

So if I disable display adapter, the monitor goes ON with the backlight led but no image.

I think this is a driver issue which could not address the monitor timing, frequency and resolution.

Actually Intel software let the user to change the custom timings and freq settings but as soon as I plug the monitor, LattePanda keeps restarting.



Yes it is. Coco Xia said "most" not "All"


Yeap I misread that.

User avatar
Coco Xia
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:36 am

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:37 am

@secure After disabled the intel graphic display adapter, is there still output via the HDMI? :o

User avatar
secure
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:18 pm

Wed Nov 01, 2017 1:48 pm

Yes.
Windows 10 automatically installs a default pnp display adapter driver as soon as you disable or uninstall display adapter. It appears under other devices. Thats why you still have an output to monitor.

User avatar
secure
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:18 pm

Wed Nov 01, 2017 1:51 pm

After investigating with Intel they told me that the latter (VBIOS) implemented by the system manufacturer could be problematic causing incompability issue.

The monitor works with
Lenovo G50 with ATI Gpu - 2560x1600 works OK
Desktop Computer HD RAdeon 6800 - 2560x1600 works OK
Dell Inspiron 17R Intel GPU - works OK

User avatar
Coco Xia
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:36 am

Thu Nov 02, 2017 9:12 am

secure wrote:
Wed Nov 01, 2017 1:48 pm
Yes.
Windows 10 automatically installs a default pnp display adapter driver as soon as you disable or uninstall display adapter. It appears under other devices. Thats why you still have an output to monitor.
Oh well, I see. I have no much knowledge about this. :oops:
Thank you very much!

User avatar
secure
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:18 pm

Fri Nov 03, 2017 8:47 pm

No problem mate.

I just bought a UDOO X86 and that fix the problem.

Udoo x86 has the same graphic card but no problem with the monitor. I run 2560x1600 without problem.

I would suggest buying Udoo as you would not get support from LattePanda team.

Post Reply